My new Juicer the Omega 8004

A few years ago I stumbled across the Netflix movie ‘Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead’. I am a documentary junkie so I watched it.  It made me want to start juicing.  So I went to Wal-Mart and I bought a $50 GE brand juicer and got to it.  It has done well for me over the last few years but it is so cumbersome to use and clean! Cleaning it is a pain, the strainer never really gets clean plus it has a crazy sharp blade.  Now, I don’t have a dishwasher so maybe if I could throw it in the dishwasher it would be easier.  For me though, I hand wash my dishes so easy clean up is important to me.  I got out of juicing for a while because of those reasons I mentioned.  I miss it! So, I started researching reviews online to see if I was missing out.  I was missing out for sure!

Juicing for me is refreshing. Fruits and Vegetables are a big part of what your body needs to stay healthy. They can keep cholesterol down, blood pressure in check, keep cancer cells from forming, keep headaches at bay and I could go on and on.  So instead of chasing the latest fad or taking oodles of medicines each day juicing can replace those things and be a life style change.  Why not put it as part of your daily routine? Juicing also is a great jump start to the day! I have more energy and feel great first thing in the morning.  When people grumble because they think I am a bubbly morning person I just say back to them it’s all in how you start your day.  My husband loves it when I hand him a fresh made glass of juice.  When I stopped juicing everyday he one day said to me that he was slowly losing his morning energy and couldn’t figure out why.  He said his days just weren’t up to snuff.  I realized not juicing was affecting our energy levels, moods and basically our overall day.

The internet can be a blessing from time to time, online reviews and you tube videos of products can go a long way with making a decision on what to purchase.  I started reading the differences between my old juicer which is a centrifugal juicer and the new juicer which is a masticating juicer. Centrifugal juicers have blades and masticating juicers have augers.  The masticating juicers squeeze out more juice leaving a dryer pulp therefore getting more juice for your money.  That alone sold me on the masticating juicer.  It is much pricier though so I wanted to know more before I spent that kind of money.

Continuing my research I found that the Omega 8004 juicer will not only make a nice refreshing juice but it will make nut butters and extrude pasta.  How cool is that! Peanut Butter is a great source of protein and a good snack and who doesn’t like the occasional Pb&J.  I buy lots of Peanut Butter and only the real peanut butter that has nothing added to it.  I get mine at Natural Grocers because they make it right there.  Now I can make my own! I did this past weekend, it rocks! I don’t have a pasta machine, I do make fresh pasta but I usually roll it out and cut it so it isn’t the best shaped pasta.  This little machine has different ends so I will now have some nice homemade spaghetti. It listed other things you can do but I hit the highlights with what makes it a great machine.

Clean up is a breeze with it. Since it is an auger and not a blade you can get into those tight areas easier plus the mesh screen is small and cleans up quick with a brush that came with it.

Juicing has once again become a part of my daily routine and I already feel better and have more energy. My advice is no matter how much you can afford get a juicer and get to juicing! Don’t forget juicing is fruits and veggies so you get a lot of nutrition out of it.

 

Bright Blessings

Ruby DragonLily

Leave a Reply

