Feeling lazy but need to cook

I must say when one gets a case of the lazies it kind of sucks when you realize you still have to cook something. I have been cleaning out the freezers of my homemade premade meals and didn’t make it to the store on Saturday and figured we’d get out and about on Sunday so no problem.  Well Sunday came around and it was too lazy of a day.  We rarely have a day that we just hang out on the couch and watch shows and movies and don’t really get much done.  Sunday was that day.  I did get a rug finished up but only because I could do it while planted on the couch.  My husband did get some miniature painting done but again only because he could do it while on the couch.  Breakfast was easy because I had some banana bread and I had some left over potato soup so lunch was covered.  Then came time for supper! We still had some potato soup but we ate it on Friday and Saturday for both main meals and again on Sunday for lunch.  What is a girl to do!?!?!  Hahaha – come up with the best potato cakes ever from potato soup!

I fished out all the potatoes and placed them on a plate and started smashing them with a fork. Some of the cream sauce was mixed in but I did try to strain it out between my fingers as I fished out the potatoes.  Then I cut up the half of a jalapeño I had left and grated some parmesan and added both to the plate of smashed potatoes.  I added a hand full of flour and mixed it all well so it was sticky.  I heated up my flat cast iron pan, added a smidge of oil and let it get nice and hot.  I then rolled small balls of potatoes and barely flattened them out and cooked them in the oil.  They had a nice golden brown color on each side.  I also had on hand a little spinach and parmesan cheese.  I cut up some spinach and placed it on the plate grated some fresh parm on top of it and then placed about 4 potato cakes on each plate atop of the spinach.

It was a hit! It was very tasty and although it was still potatoes it was different than just eating potato soup again. It didn’t take long, probably 5 minutes to whip together and another 10 minutes to fully cook.  The spinach added a nice fresh touch, the parm changed the flavor up a little and I saved the last bit of potato soup from going bad and didn’t have to freeze it.  There was a little creamy sauce left and for me that made a nice lunch at work on Monday.

Then on Monday I broke free from the lazies and bought everything I needed for homemade chicken salad so this week we are munching on chicken salad sandwiches. By the end of the week I’ll end up mixing that in to something else though I am sure. Well maybe my husband’s comment last night was my chicken salad was better than anything he has had in a restaurant so he might be good eating it all week.

Bright Blessings

Ruby DragonLily

Leave a Reply

